Format - cover


b-sides album
release date: 6. February 2012
chart: UK #26, US #-

Pet Shop Boys released a second b-sides compilation on February 6th, 2012, on Parlophone. Entitled "Format", it celebrates the duo's prolific song-writing and recording by collecting 38 b-sides and bonus tracks originally released on singles from 1996 to 2009. The album is available digitally and on double-CD. All tracks have been remastered. "Format" follows on from the 1995 release, "Alternative", which collected the duo's b-sides from 1985 to 1994.

Mark Farrow has designed "Format". The colourful graphics on the lift-off lid card box represents the music contained within, as Farrow explains: "The composition on the box is a graphic representation of all the spines of all 38 of the b-sides and bonus tracks included on the compilation.".
"Every stripe represents the spine of the original release format on which each of the songs was included," he continues, "whether it was a J card, pochette, cassette, DVD jewel box or 7 inch single. The colours are also informed by the original releases."
The graphics on the two inner CD sleeves represent the tracks on each disc. There is a also a booklet included in the box. "The booklet contains a Jon Savage interview with Neil and Chris about the songs," says Farrow. "The booklet cover has the same type treatment as the box but features no graphics," he continues. "We deliberately kept it really simple, it is black and white throughout."

related pictures:

format format format

  1. The truck driver and his mate
  2. Hit and miss
  3. In the night (1995)
  4. Betrayed
  5. How I learned to hate rock 'n' roll
  6. Discoteca (New Version)
  7. The calm before the storm
  8. Confidential (Demo for Tina)
  9. The boy who couldn't keep his clothes on
  10. Delusions of grandeur
  11. The view from your balcony
  12. Disco potential
  13. Silver age
  14. Screaming
  15. The ghost of myself
  16. Casting a shadow
  17. Lies
  18. Sexy Northerner
  1. Always
  2. Nightlife
  3. Searching for the face of Jesus
  4. Between two islands
  5. Friendly fire
  6. We're the Pet Shop Boys
  7. Transparent
  8. I didn't get where I am today
  9. The Resurrectionist
  10. Girls don't cry
  11. In private (7-inch mix): with Elton John
  12. Blue on blue
  13. No time for tears (7-inch mix)
  14. Bright young things
  15. Party song
  16. We're all criminals now
  17. Gin and Jag
  18. After the event
  19. The former enfant terrible
  20. Up and down

2xCD-R: 2012 UK
(Parlophone; n/a) [promo]
2xCD: 2012 UK
(Parlophone;PSBPROMO1) [p;cardsleeve]
2xCD: 2012 DE
(Parlophone;C9557162/95571621) [box]
2xCD: 2012 CA
(Parlophone;C9557162/95571621) [box]
2xCD: 2012 AU
(Parlophone;C9557162/95571621) [box]
2xCD: 2012 AR
(Parlophone;C9557162/95571621) [box]
2xCD: 2012 TW
(Parlophone;C9557162/95571621) [box; w/OBI]
2xCD: 2012 JP
(EMI/Toshiba;TOCP-????) [w/OBI]
2xCD: 2012 TH
(Warner Music;C9557162/5099995571621)
DLOAD: 2012